Course Details

Yogasna to balance 7 Chakras in human body

What are 7 chakras in human body? How important are they for us? There are seven chakras or energy centers in human body through which our vital energy or prana shakti flows. Sometimes, these energy channels get blocked and this leads to illness and disturbances in the body’s natural processes. It is important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely. This is possible when the chakras are balanced.

How yoga helps to balance 7 chakras in body

When a chakra i.e. wheel of energy is stuck, movement can help release the prana (energy). Yoga postures are a great way to release stale or stuck energy from the body because they invite fresh, vital energy back in through poses and the breath.


The practice of yoga ultimately leads us to a state of union, which is possible when we create a state in our body where energy can flow freely from the base of the spine (the Root Chakra), through and beyond the top of the head (the Crown Chakra). When energy can flow freely through us like this, we can achieve a state of union with the cosmic energy, which flows through all living things.  When each chakra is unblocked, it spins like a wheel, hence the word ‘chakra’ meaning ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit.


Since yoga is both a physical and spiritual practice, yoga poses are not only exercises for your body but also your mind, emotions, and spirit, making it the perfect practice for balancing your chakras.

The 7 chakras in human body

Let’s explore the seven chakras in our body, how they affect the body, what imbalance does to our personality and organs, and how to set it right by balancing the chakras with yoga asanas or poses.


Muladhara Chakra

Swadishthana Chakra

Manipura Chakra

Anahata Chakra

Vishuddhi Chakra

Ajna Chakra

Sahasrara Chakra